Reaching for a better thought

I AM GRATEFUL

Since my earlier post, my day has got better and feel like I have had several breakthroughs – first, one of my dear friends and colleagues very kindly loaned me the money to make part of the payment that was outstanding  – the bank have now agreed to allow me more time to raise the balance. Secondly, I approached my children’s school and have been given an extension – I now only need to pay their school fees on the 2nd of May.

I have also found out that my primary bank has a debt support unit – its not advertised – and I am seeing them on Sunday. Finally, after speaking to the collections department of  Bank X, I took a risk and asked whether I could consolidate my credit card debt with them bank – their representative very patiently took the time to explain what I could and couldn’t do and told me where I needed to go.

Believe me, these are baby steps but each of these will go a little way towards helping me in my fight.  For example, if I manage to consolidate credit card debt with Bank X – which is currently AED 79,000 spread across two cards – I will go from paying 3.99% per month interest on each card to paying 1.1% interest per month (on a decreasing balance) over 48 months.

Every little bit helps and, all of  a sudden, that light at the end of the tunnel doesn’t seem quite so far away.

I AM GRATEFUL



Leave a comment